Using the saved block library

You can save any block in your Qwilr Page to reuse later. Your saved blocks are stored in a library, which is easy to access and maintain. 

Adding a block to the library

While you're editing a Qwilr Page, you can save any block. At the top left corner of the block, click the  Block Options icon (3 dots). Next, click the Save Block icon. Give the block a title, and click Save.

2 ways to access your block library

Qwilr has two access points for the library - they're useful for different tasks:

  • Accessing from within a page: This is useful when you need to add a block to the page.
  • Accessing from the dashboard: This is great for when you need an overall view of your saved blocks, and for doing some maintenance.

From within a page

While you're editing a page, you can click the + symbol to add a block and then choose Add Block from Library. That will open a sidebar that displays all of your saved blocks.

Alternatively, you can click the Show Library button in the top left corner of the editor, next to the page title.

From the dashboard

To access a more global view of your saved block library, head to the top left corner of the dashboard and click Blocks.

Creating a new block in the library

Sometimes, you might need to set up a new saved block without opening a page. You can do that from the dashboard.

Head to the top right corner and click Blocks to open your library. 


Click the Create New button at the top right corner. Then choose the type of block you'd like to create.

From here, you can add content and apply styling to the block. You'll also give the block a title so you can locate it again. 

When it looks the way you want, click the Save Block button. This block will now be available in your block library.

Editing a saved block

You can edit the content of a saved block any time. When you do, the changes will apply to any future pages where you use this block. Existing pages will continue to reflect the older version of the block.

There are two ways to get to the block editor. First, if you're working on a page and you have the block library sidebar open, you can click the pencil icon to edit any block.

If you've accessed your block library from the dashboard, you can hover over the saved block and click the pencil icon. 

Once you've made your changes, click the  Save Changes button at the top right corner.

If you don't want to save the changes, click the  X icon instead and then confirm.

Deleting a saved block

There are two ways to delete a saved block. First, if you're working on a page and you have the block library sidebar open, you can click the  More Actions icon (3 dots) and then choose Delete Block.

If you've accessed your block library from the dashboard, hover over the block you want to delete. Then click the More Actions icon (3 dots), and choose Delete Block

Note: When you delete a block, it can't be recovered. The block will remain in any pages where you've already used it.

Locking a saved block

Note: This feature is only available on our Enterprise plan.

From your block library, you can choose to lock specific blocks so that only admins can edit them. This means anyone in your account can add the block to a Qwilr Page, but only an admin can update the content. Locked blocks are great for content that you don't want changed, like legal terms of use.

To use this feature, you'll need to access your block library from the dashboard.

Hover over the block you need to lock. Click the  More Actions icon (three dots). Then enable the Lock Editing to Admins switch. A lock icon will appear next to the block title.

Organizing saved blocks into folders

You add folders to your saved block library - it's a great way to keep things organized. 

Adding a folder

Step 1. To create a folder, head to the top left corner of the dashboard and click Blocks.

Step 2. In the left menu, click the Create Account Folder icon (+ symbol). 


Step 3. From there, you'll be able to give the new folder a title. Hit Enter to save it.

Note: Currently, Qwilr sorts your folders alphabetically. If you'd like to move one or more of them to the top of the list, add a symbol before the name, like "@Reports."

Step 4. Once you've created a folder, you can move any saved block to it by clicking on it and dragging it to the folder.

You can also move multiple blocks to the same folder at once. Click the check boxes next to each block, and then drag the group to the folder.

If you need to move a block to a different folder, you can open the folder, click on the block, and then drag it to a different folder.

Accessing your block folders while editing a page

While you're editing a page, click the Show Library icon.

Click the Saved blocks icon to reveal your folders.

Managing your folders

To update the name of a folder, click on the 3-dot icon to the right of its name. Choose Rename Folder and then enter the new name.

To delete a folder, click on the 3-dot icon next to its name. Choose Delete Folder.

NoteIf you delete a folder, that also deletes every block in the folder. The blocks can't be recovered.

You'll see a warning about deleting all the pages. Click Delete Folder to confirm.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us