Creating and managing dashboard folders

As your team creates more and more Qwilr Pages, dashboard folders help you keep them organized.

Note: All folders are public. Any page you put into a folder will be accessible to your whole team. All users can add pages to any folder.

Creating a folder

Head to the dashboard and find the the Create Account Folder icon (plus symbol) at the top of the left sidebar. Click that.

From there, you'll be able to give the new folder a title. Hit Enter to save it.

Note: Currently, Qwilr sorts your folders alphabetically. If you'd like to move one or more of them to the top of the list, add a symbol before the name, like "@Reports."

Nesting folders

You can place folders within folders, which is great for organizing your team's work. You might, for example, have a folder for each team in your company. Then in each team's folder, you might have a folder for each major project the team is working on. Or you could have a folder for each team member. Or folders for different kinds of Qwilr Pages, like proposals, case studies, and contracts.

To create nested folders, click and drag any folder and drop it on another folder. Or you can open a folder and then create a new folder inside it, using the steps above.

Moving pages to a folder

You can move any Qwilr Page to any folder by clicking and dragging. Click on the page in the right side of the dashboard, and drag it to the folder in the left sidebar.

You can also move multiple pages to the same folder at once. Click the check boxes next to each page, and then drag the group to the folder.

Similarly, you can open any of your folders, click on a page in that folder, and then drag it to a different folder.

Note: A page can only live in one folder. But if you have pages your team needs to access more widely, you can leave it in the main Pages folder, and add one or more tags to the page. That way your team can use the dashboard filter to find the page quickly.

Folders and permissions

You can set specific permissions for a Qwilr Page, but if you move that page into a folder, it becomes a public page. Every member of your team will be able to access it.

If you later move the page back to the main Pages folder, it remains public, but you can restore its original permissions if you need to. 

To do that, open the page and click the Share with Team icon in the top right corner. You'll see the list of the users who previously had access to this page, plus a new line showing that everyone in your account now has access.

If you want to restore the page permissions to the original list of users, click the Everyone In Your Account dropdown menu and choose Remove.

Renaming a folder

To update the name of a folder, click on it in the sidebar. Then click on the title in the right side of the page and update it.

Deleting a folder

Note: If you delete a folder, that also deletes every page in the folder.

At the bottom of the dashboard's sidebar, you'll see a Deleted folder. You can click and drag any folder there.

You'll see a warning about deleting all the pages. Click Delete Folder to confirm.

Once deleted, the pages from this folder will stay in the Deleted folder for 30 days. You can still restore them during that time. After 30 days, they can't be recovered.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us